Automatically Share Zoom Cloud Recording with Someone Else

Environment

U-M Zoom

Issue

I would like for someone other than myself to have access to all my Zoom cloud recordings automatically, without me having to share each recording individually. How can I do this?

Resolution

Recordings are owned by the host of the meeting and anyone who is not the host (including alternative hosts) is considered a "viewer" and has the permissions that a viewer would have based on the sharing settings.

Option 1: Canvas

  • For courses or anyone using Canvas, the recording can be posted via the Canvas integration automatically.
  • Anyone with a Teacher, TA, Designer, or Admin role in the course can publish the recordings for students in the class to view, as well as access the sharing link.
  • This option works best if all that is needed is the sharing link, not the files.
  • To allow someone other than the host to download the recordings, the host must individually enable the ability to download recordings. If the ability to download recording files is needed, refer to Option 2 below.

Option 2: Dropbox

  • Hosts can set up the Zoom for Dropbox integration so the files for all cloud recordings they host are automatically copied into a folder in U-M Dropbox.
  • This folder can be shared with specific people so whenever the host has new cloud recordings created, the specific people to whom the host has granted access can see the files in U-M Dropbox without the host taking any further action.
  • This option works best if what is needed is the cloud recording files, not the sharing link.
  • Remember: This will automatically copy all cloud recordings you host into U-M Dropbox and automatically share them with the people you specify. Ensure to only record meetings and webinars to the cloud that are appropriate for the people shared to access!

The host of the meetings that are being recorded to the cloud should follow these steps:

  1. Enable the Zoom for Dropbox integration and ensure that Copy Zoom cloud recordings to Dropbox is checked in the integration's settings
  2. Create a new meeting and record it to the cloud, even just as a test, so the Zoom folder in U-M Dropbox is created after the recording has been processed
  3. Log in to U-M Dropbox and click All files from the left navigation, and find the newly created Zoom folder
  4. Click on Only You in the Members column for the new Zoom folder
  5. Choose the type of access you would like to grant to these other individuals in the drop-down menu:
    • Can View: If you want them to be able to view and download the cloud recording files but not create new files, replace files, or delete files
    • Can Edit: If you want them to be able to view and download the cloud recording files, and create new files, replace files, or delete files
  6. Add each person you want to provide access in the To field by entering their names or email addresses
  7. Click Share

The people you provided access to can now see your Zoom folder. New cloud recordings will be created in this folder as a subfolder, which the individuals will automatically have access to since the folders are inside of a folder that is shared with them.

Important: Do not rename the Zoom folder in Dropbox! If you rename the folder, the next time a new cloud recording is created, Dropbox will create a new folder named "Zoom" and put the recordings there. The integration looks for a folder named "Zoom" and puts the recordings into it, so if the folder is not named Zoom, it assumes one does not exist and creates a new one.

Additional Information

Need additional information or assistance? Contact the ITS Service Center.

Details

Article ID: 4546
Created
Thu 2/25/21 11:35 AM
Modified
Mon 10/17/22 10:50 AM

Related Articles (1)

This article explains how to use the Scheduling Privileges feature in U-M Zoom to allow others to manage and share your cloud recordings.