Google Chrome: "Your organization will manage this profile"

Environment

Google Chrome, U-M Google accounts

Issue

I receive a pop-up in Google Chrome when I sign in to my U-M Google account that states:

Your organization will manage this profile
This account ([uniqname]@umich.edu) is managed by umich.edu
You’re adding a managed profile to this browser. Your administrator has control over the profile and can access its data. Bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings can be synced to your account and managed by your administrator.

Why am I receiving this? How do I stop the pop-up from happening every time I log in? Does U-M have access to my bookmarks, history, passwords, etc.?

Resolution

To prevent the pop-up notice from appearing every time you log in to your U-M Google account in Google Chrome, choose one of the following resolutions:

  • If you want to sync your Chrome profile across multiple devices, turn on sync
  • If you don't want to sync your Chrome profile across multiple devices, turn off sync
  • If you don't want to sign in to a Chrome profile at all, the only way to do this is to use Guest mode every time you browse
Important: The University of Michigan does NOT view or manage your bookmarks, browsing history, passwords, or any other information stored in your Chrome profile. The information in the pop-up is misleading.

Additional Information

WHEN the pop-up appears

  • The pop-up appears when you sign in to your U-M Google account (via Gmail, Google Drive, etc.) using the desktop Google Chrome browser version 102 or newer outside of an existing Google Chrome profile, Guest profile, or the profile creation flow
  • The pop-up started appearing for U-M users in late May/early June 2022 when Google Chrome for desktop version 102 was released
    • The notice may also appear on other Chromium-based browsers such as Microsoft Edge, Brave, Opera, etc.

WHY the pop-up appears

Google's information about the update says:

"Chrome 102 brings better separation between personal and enterprise-managed data. When the user signs into a managed account, they will have the option to either keep existing browsing data separate, or merge it with the managed account. By default, the data is kept separate, so a new profile will be created. Or, if they choose, they can merge the existing profile into the managed account. This prevents inadvertent sharing of personal data with work accounts. The ManagedAccountsSigninRestriction policy can be used to hide the checkbox altogether, allowing admins to force users to create a separate work profile."

  • No policies or configurations have been changed
    • Google, not U-M, made this language change
  • The pop-up tries to make it clearer to you (as the user) that you are using Google Chrome via a Google account managed by the University of Michigan

U-M and your Chrome data

  • U-M does NOT view or manage your bookmarks, browsing history, passwords, or any other information stored in your Chrome profile
    • The information in the pop-up is misleading
  • The only information U-M receives when you sign in to a Chrome profile is your email address, your operating system (OS), OS version, and the date/time you first and last synced the profile
    • This information is not monitored
  • The only management controls that U-M has are the ability to sign you out of the profile on that specific device, which would only ever occur in the event of a security breach (such as a lost or stolen device)
  • If you choose to sync your profile (i.e., turn sync ON), you will have the same bookmarks, history, and passwords available to you any time you sign in to Chrome on any device

For additional assistance, contact the ITS Service Center.

Details

Article ID: 8179
Created
Wed 6/1/22 3:10 PM
Modified
Thu 6/23/22 2:50 PM