Google Chrome: Turn Sync On and Off on Computer

Environment

Google Chrome

Issue

How to turn sync on and off in Chrome.

Resolution

To save your info to your Google Account, turn on sync.

Sign in and turn on sync

To turn on sync:

  1. On your computer, open Chrome
  2. At the top right, click Profile
  3. Sign in to your Google Account
  4. If you want to sync your info across all your devices, click Turn on sync -> Turn on

Turn off sync

If you turn off sync, you can still see your bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings on your computer. If you make any changes, they won't be saved to your Google Account and synced to your other devices.

When you turn off sync, you’ll also be signed out of other Google services, like Gmail.

  1. On your computer, open Chrome
  2. At the top right, click Profile -> Sync is on
  3. Click Turn off

Learn how to delete your synced info from your Google Account.

To sign out and turn off your Chromebook, learn how to sign out and turn it off.

When you sign in to your Google Account through a Google service, like Gmail, you’ll be automatically signed in to Chrome. If you don’t want to ever sign in to Chrome, you can turn off Chrome sign-in.

Additional Information

Note: When creating a new profile with your U-M Google account, you may receive a notice alerting you that "Your organization will manage this profile" (refer to the attached image for an example). It is safe to click Continue. The notice is simply acknowledging the state of the account (as managed by the University of Michigan), and it is not changing the account in any way or asking you to agree to anything.

More information can be found here: https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/185277?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop&oco=0

Details

Article ID: 7200
Created
Thu 2/10/22 12:36 PM
Modified
Fri 6/3/22 2:42 PM