Change Videoconferencing in Existing Google Calendar Events

Environment

U-M Google Calendar

Issue

How to change/switch the videoconferencing service attached to an existing Google Calendar event.

Resolution

You could encounter two situations when changing the video conferencing service used within an existing Google Calendar event.

If your event was created with the BlueJeans Chrome extension:

Note: Ensure you have uninstalled the BlueJeans for Google Calendar Chrome extension

  1. Click the event you would like to edit from your Google Calendar and click the pen icon (Edit event).
  2. Under Event Details, delete the BlueJeans meeting link in the Location field.

Screenshot of Event Details section of Google Calendar event. Red box around Location field.

Note: You should also delete the BlueJeans meeting information in the event description section.

  1. Click Add video conferencing and select the service you would like to use. This will create a new session link.

Screenshot of Event Details section of Google Calendar event. Add video conferencing button displayed with drop-down options.

  1. At the top of the page, click Save. You can choose whether or not to send invitees an update email notification by clicking Send or Don’t Send in the dialog box that appears.

Your event should now be updated for everyone with the new meeting link.

If your event was created using the “Add video conferencing” button:

Important: You may want to install the Zoom for GSuite add-on from the G Suite Marketplace if you have not done so already.

  1. Click the event you would like to edit from your Google Calendar and click the pen icon (Edit event).
  2. Under Event Details, click the “X” beside the current videoconferencing service.

Screenshot of Event Details in a Google Calendar event. Red box around the "X".

  1. Click Add video conferencing and select the service you would like to use. This will create a new session link.

Screenshot of Event Details section of Google Calendar event. Add video conferencing button displayed with drop-down options.

  1. At the top of the page, click Save. You can choose whether or not to send invitees an update email notification by clicking Send or Don’t Send in the dialog box that appears.

Your event should now be updated for everyone with the new meeting link.

Additional Information

Need additional information or assistance? Contact the ITS Service Center.

Details

Article ID: 3578
Created
Tue 9/1/20 11:04 AM
Modified
Tue 5/18/21 5:06 PM