Leave a Team Associated With Your Personal Dropbox Account

Environment

U-M Dropbox

Issue

Some users are unable to join the U-M Dropbox domain because their personal, non-UM Dropbox account (using their Level-1 @umich.edu email address) is associated with a separate Dropbox Team (i.e., not the University of Michigan Dropbox Team).

Resolution

Dropbox does not allow you to be a part of two separate Dropbox Teams at once under the same email address. This is an issue for Teams users who have a personal Dropbox account using their Level-1 @umich.edu email address but want to join the U-M Dropbox Team. The user must leave the Team their personal Dropbox account is associated with before they can merge with/join the U-M Dropbox Team.

How to leave a free Dropbox Team

To leave a free Dropbox Team that is active or in an active trial:

  1. Go to dropbox.com
  2. Sign in to your personal Dropbox account
  3. Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the upper-right corner
  4. Click View team and groups
  5. Click Leave team

How to leave a paid Dropbox Business Team

If you are a member of an active, paid Dropbox Business Team, you do not have the ability to leave the Team on your own. You will need to contact the Dropbox Business Team admin. The admin can:    

  • Delete you from the Team
  • Convert your account to a personal account using a non-UMICH email address

Either option will then allow you to create a U-M Dropbox.

If you are the admin of an active, paid Dropbox Business Team, you will need to delete the Team or change your email address to a non-UMICH email address.

  1. Log in to your Dropbox Team admin account
  2. Go to dropbox.com/team/settings
  3. Click Delete team

How to leave a suspended Dropbox Team

A suspended Dropbox Team is a free Team that finished its active trial period and the user never paid for it to continue.

  1. Log in to your personal Dropbox account
  2. Go to dropbox.com/team
  3. Click Leave team

How to leave a deactivated Dropbox Team

A deactivated Dropbox Team is a Team that was a paid Team, but they have let the payment lapse.

The account is currently in limbo. (Dropbox expects the user will want to reinstate the Team so everyone is still bound to it.) The Team admin will either need to disband the Team or delete the users from their Team before they can join U-M Dropbox.

To disband the Team:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com with your Team admin account
  2. Go to the Locked State Decision page
  3. Click Cancel Dropbox Business and disband my team
  4. Check the box to confirm that you understand disbanding is permanent
  5. Click Disband team

Additional Information

Two of the most common error messages encountered when trying to sign in to U-M Dropbox when you're still a member or an admin of a non-UM Dropbox Team:  

  • "Unexpected Dropbox Error"
  • "SAML Assertion error" 

If you are not a member of another Dropbox Team account, but still cannot sign in to U-M Dropbox, please refer to the article below:

https://teamdynamix.umich.edu/TDClient/30/Portal/KB/ArticleDet?ID=4079

If you are a member of a Dropbox Team that has been deleted or have other questions, contact the ITS Service Center for assistance.

Details

Article ID: 4794
Created
Mon 4/5/21 12:11 PM
Modified
Wed 5/5/21 2:38 PM