Dropbox: Using Selective Sync / Adding or Removing Folder(s) to Desktop App

Environment 

U-M Dropbox

Issue

How to use selective sync in the Dropbox desktop app to free up hard drive space.

Resolution

Selective sync lets you choose which folders you’d like to store on your computer’s hard drive from all of the folders you have stored in your U-M Dropbox account. If you check a folder, that folder and the files and folders inside it are saved to your hard drive. If you uncheck a folder, that folder and the files and folders inside it are removed from your hard drive and are only available online on the Dropbox website.

Note: Automatic, local desktop syncing for Team Folders is turned off by default. You will have to use selective sync on the desktop app to add it into their desktop sync. You must also install the Dropbox desktop application to use selective sync.

You can view the sync status of your folders from your desktop app preferences or from the Dropbox folder on your computer.

Green circle with white check Local — The folder is saved to your hard drive and online at dropbox.com

Blue circle with chasing arrows Syncing/Updating — The folder is updating

White cloud image Online-only — Learn more about online-only files with Smart Sync

White circle with green check Mixed — The folder contains files and/or folders that are local and online-only

Choose which folders to store on your hard drive

To check and un-check which folders to store on your computer:

  1. Click the Dropbox icon in your system tray/toolbar (Windows) or menu bar (Mac)
  2. Click your avatar (i.e., profile picture or initials) in the top right corner
  3. Select Preferences
  4. Click the Sync tab
  5. Click Choose folders (Mac) or Selective Sync… (Windows) under the Selective Sync section
  6. Check the boxes beside the folders you’d like saved on your hard drive
    1. Un-check the boxes beside folders you’d like removed
    2. Folders that aren't selected will be available online only on the Dropbox website
  7. Click Update

Additional Information

Note: Once a Team Folder is created, it may take time for it to be seen in Selective Sync. When Selective Sync is opened, there may be a notice that says, "ITS has added you to [GROUP]. However, it will not sync to your computer."  It may take 10 to 20 minutes (more or less) for the Team Folder to appear in Selective Sync to choose per the above steps.

One common cause content may not sync is that certain characters in the folder name are not allowed on the target OS. Refer to the Dropbox Help Center for more information.

Need additional information or assistance? Contact the ITS Service Center.

Details

Article ID: 3069
Created
Tue 7/7/20 9:05 AM
Modified
Thu 2/10/22 11:14 AM