Remove Manually Added Dropbox Contacts

Environment

U-M Dropbox

Issue

I have contacts outside U-M Dropbox that are suggested when sharing folders or files, and I don't want these contacts appearing as suggestions.

I'm trying to share folders or files in U-M Dropbox with Michigan Medicine employees, but keep getting prompted to share to their "@med.umich.edu email address.

Resolution

When you you share a U-M Dropbox folder or file with any email address other than a "@umich.edu" email address, it will automatically be added as a contact in your U-M Dropbox. When sharing other folders or files in Dropbox, these contacts will be suggested. If you no longer wish Dropbox to suggest these contacts outside U-M Dropbox, you can remove them by following the steps below.

Please note, that you only have the option to remove ALL manually added contacts. If you wish to keep some of the contacts that have been added, you will need to share a file or folder with them again to automatically add them back into your contacts. 

  1. Log in to the U-M Dropbox website at https://dropbox.umich.edu/
  2. Open your U-M Dropbox account settings by clicking on the circle with your initials in the upper right corner and choosing Settings
    1. Or click on the following link: https://www.dropbox.com/account/general 
  3. Scroll down to the "Manually added contacts" setting and click "Clear"
  4. Click the "Clear" button when prompted to confirm

You may need to sign out of U-M Dropbox and sign back in for the changes to take affect.

Additional Information

More information on adding, deleting, and importing contacts in Dropbox is available at https://help.dropbox.com/files-folders/share/contacts.

For additional questions, please contact the ITS Service Center.

 

Details

Article ID: 7282
Created
Mon 2/28/22 12:47 PM
Modified
Mon 2/28/22 4:47 PM