Deactivating a device in CrashPlan

Deactivate (delete) a device in CrashPlan. When computers are rebuilt or replaced, older backups may no longer be needed.

Objective

To deactivate a device and the corresponding backup from the CrashPlan Web Console.

Environment

CrashPlan, backup, deactivation

Procedure

  1. Go to CrashPlan Desktop Backup.
  2. Log in with your uniqname and password.
  3. After you are logged in, you will be presented with your backup summary that includes the list of devices that are backed up, if there are alerts, and when the Last Backup Activity was.
  4. Click on the device that has a Last Backup Activity that is not recent.
  5. The device summary will pop up on the right side. Click the gear icon in the upper right, and click on Deactivate.
  6. You will be prompted with a message asking if you are sure you want to deactivate this device. When you deactivate a device, the backup for that device will be removed, so you want to be sure you no longer need that backed up data before you proceed. If you are sure, you can click on the check box and click on OK. If you are not sure, you can contact LSA Technology Services for assistance.
  7. You will see a notification that the device has been deactivated.
  8. You may repeat these steps for other devices you wish to deactivate.

Additional notes

If you need assistance, please visit our website at LSA TS Help & Support.

Details

Article ID: 1792
Created
Wed 5/27/20 10:59 AM
Modified
Mon 8/31/20 8:02 AM