Updating...
Skip to main content
(opens in a new tab)
Filter your search by category. Current category:
All
All
Knowledge Base
Service Catalog
Search the client portal
Search
Sign In
Show Applications Menu
ITS Client Portal
Sign In
Search
Home
My Requests
Services
Knowledge Base
More Applications
Skip to Knowledge Base content
Search
Articles
Blank
Knowledge Base
Public
Communication and Collaboration
Google: "You’re Not on The Recipients List" Banner in Gmail Reply
Google: "You’re Not on The Recipients List" Banner in Gmail Reply
Tags
google
gmail
google-mail
gmail-banner
gmail-reply
gmail-bcc
bcc
reply-all
gmail-notice
gmail-alert
email-reply
google-shared-accounts
mcommunity-groups
mcommunity-access
recipient-list
Environment
U-M Google, Gmail
Issue
When replying all to an email in Gmail, I receive the following banner:
"You’re not on the recipients list. Replying to all lets everyone know you were included."
What does this mean?
I received an email because I'm a member of an MCommunity group or Shared Account group. That group/account was not BCC'd. Why does this banner appear when I reply all to the message?
Resolution
Google displays this banner in the compose box whenever you attempt to reply all to an email thread where your email address is not listed explicitly in the To or CC fields (such as BCC'd, auto-forwarded, or delegated emails).
However,
this banner may also appear when replying all to an MCommunity group or Shared Account
.
This affects both public and private MCommunity groups and Shared Accounts with group members (who receive messages sent to the address).
Because of how MCommunity groups function within U-M Google, Google interprets these groups as having members who are "hidden" from recipients and other group members.
Because your account's email address isn't explicitly named in the recipient field, if you reply all, it will display the banner.
An example where this matters is if the group you're replying all to has external members. While you have access to
MCommunity
to view the group members (as someone with an @umich.edu email address and membership to the group), other
non-UM
external members do not. Replying all would reveal to these external members that you are also a member of this group.
Additional Information
Google Workspace Update regarding the banner
As of September 2026, Google has updated the language from "You were BCC'd on this message" to the better-phrased "You’re not on the recipients list."
Screenshot of the banner is attached to this article
Need additional information or assistance? Contact the
ITS Service Center
.
Sign in to leave feedback
0 reviews
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank
Print Article
Related Services / Offerings (1)
ITS-Google at U-M
This service is software bundle that includes the core Google Apps of Email, Calendar, Docs, Sites, Contacts, and Chat as well as over 40 other apps designed to improve collaboration.
Deleting...