Delete Media from My Media into the Recycle Bin

Summary

This document will instruct users on how to delete media from their My Media gallery in MiVideo.

Body

Environment

Canvas 
MiVideo Mediaspace

My Media is the location for managing your video, audio, and image files in Canvas and MiVideo Mediaspace. See related My Media articles for more information about using your media library.

Issue

Delete media from your My Media library into your Recycle Bin.

How to access and restore deleted media from the Recycle Bin.

Important: the Recycle Bin is enabled in Canvas and many MiVideo Mediaspaces. If you do not see your Recycle Bin or are not prompted to move the media item into the recycle bin when deleting, then the Recycle Bin has not yet been enabled on your site. Media that you delete will be permanently deleted. Contact your site administrator regarding enabling the Recycle Bin.

Resolution

Notes: 

  • You must be the media Owner to delete media.
  • The Recycle Bin will keep deleted media for 30 days. After 30 days the media will be permanently deleted.

Delete Media into the Recycle Bin

Warning:

  • Deleting published media can result in broken embeds. Viewers will see an "Access Denied" message when attempting to view a deleted embedded video. See the Publish Media article for more information on managing viewer access.
  • Deleting media published in a course Media Gallery will remove the video from the gallery.
  • Deleting media published in a Mediaspace channel will remove the video from the channel.
  1. Navigate to My Media:
    • Canvas: Account > My Media.  
    • MiVideo Mediaspace: user drop-down menu > My Media.
  2. Click the trash icon next to the media item
    • Note: If the delete icon is dimmed out, the Mediaspace is configured to prevent deleting media. Contact your site administrator if you cannot access the delete icon.

Access the Recycle Bin

Navigate to the Recycle Bin:

  • Canvas: Account > My Media > My recycle bin button at the top.
  • MiVideo Mediaspace: user drop-down menu > My Recycle Bin.

Restore Media from the Recycle Bin

  1. Navigate to the Recycle Bin:
  • Canvas: Account > My Media > My recycle bin button at the top.
  • MiVideo Mediaspace: user drop-down menu > My Recycle Bin.
  1. Click the restore icon next to the media item

Notes:

  • The media entry will be restored back into your My Media library.
  • The media entry name, tags, details, metadata, analytics, files, and publish status will also be restored.
  • If the deleted media was published in a course Media Gallery, the video will reappear back into the gallery. If the deleted media was published in a Mediaspace channel, the video will reappear back into the channel.

Permanently Delete Media from the Recycle Bin

Warning:

  • The delete action permanently removes media and all related analytics, metadata, and files from the server.
  • There is no undo/restore function for deleted content.
  1. Navigate to the Recycle Bin:
  • Canvas: Account > My Media > My recycle bin button at the top.
  • MiVideo Mediaspace: user drop-down menu > My Recycle Bin.
  1. Click the trash icon next to the media item

Related Articles

See related My Media articles for more information about using your media library.

Additional Information

For additional questions, please contact the ITS Service Center

Details

Details

Article ID: 4813
Created
Thu 4/8/21 3:07 PM
Modified
Fri 9/22/23 1:07 PM