Changing CrashPlan notification settings

Tags how-to

This article details how to change the email notifications you may receive related to the CrashPlan desktop backup service.

Environment

Desktop backup, Windows, Mac, laptop, workstation

Procedure

  1. Log in to the CrashPlan administration website at https://www.crashplan.com/login with your standard U-M email/password.
  2. Click on the name of the computer for which you want to change the notification settings.
    • Note: notifications are per-computer, so if you have multiple devices, changes will need to be made for each device.
  3. Click on the gear icon  and then click "Edit."
  4. In the General tab you can modify when you get the Warning (default is 14 days) and Critical (default is 30 days) email notifications.
  5. If you'd like to disable emails altogether, click the Reporting tab and for Delivery time, change the dropdown to "Never."
  6. Repeat this procedure for any other devices you have registered in CrashPlan.

Additional notes

ITS support documentation for CrashPlan may be of interest.

If you are getting notifications about a device that is no longer active, you should deactivate that device. Note that deactivating a device will delete the backups for that device forever. If you are not sure if you should deactivate or adopt a device's backups please contact LSA Technology Services for support.

Details

Article ID: 1482
Created
Tue 5/26/20 6:00 PM
Modified
Wed 9/30/20 9:46 AM