Dropbox: Shared Folder Has People Icon but Not Shared With Collaborators

Summary

This article outlines what to do when a shared folder (not a Team Folder) in U-M Dropbox has the people icon to denote it is shared, but when checking the sharing settings of the folder, it is not actually shared with anyone.

Body

Environment

U-M Dropbox

Issue

An individual shared folder (not a Team Folder) in U-M Dropbox has the people icon to indicate that it is shared, but when checking the folder's sharing settings, it is not actually shared with anyone. If the folder is a subfolder, it can prevent sharing of the parent folder.

Resolution

  1. Hover over the folder and click Share.
  2. Click the gear icon in the upper right corner of the sharing dialog box.
  3. Click Unshare folder in the lower-left corner of the sharing dialog box.
    • Ensure the "Let removed members keep a copy of this shared folder" box is unchecked.
  4. Click Unshare.

Additional Information

This article only applies to folders owned by a single user/owner. It does not apply to Dropbox Team Folders.

Need additional information or assistance? Contact the ITS Service Center.

Details

Details

Article ID: 5819
Created
Thu 6/17/21 8:07 AM
Modified
Mon 8/10/26 11:44 AM

Related Services / Offerings

Related Services / Offerings (1)

This service is a cloud file storage option that provides automatic back-up and is readily accessible from any device